Johnny’s Dance Band

First Album on the RCA Windsong label


The Jonitunes Sonic Catalog and Jonitunes Songbook are copyright John C. Jackson/ASCAP and published by Cosmosity Music/ASCAP. All selections herein are offered for purchase as cover material. Those interested in securing exclusive recording rights are urged to contact Johnny Jackson (dba Jackson Music) for more information.

Check out the Jonitunes Sonic Catalog
After reinventing itself from a four man combo into a seven piece band in 1974, Johnny’s Dance Band rose to fame in the Philadelphia region performing their unique original music at just about every club, college and concert venue in the Tri-State Area. JDB was “discovered” at John and Peter’s in New Hope, PA by movie producer Alex Matter with connections to Jerry Weintruab’s Management 3 in New York City. M3 signed the group to a management contract and subsequent three record deal on the RCA/Windsong label. Other artists on RCA included John Denver, The Carpenters, Neil Diamond and the Starland Vocal Band whose hit “Afternoon Delight” was rising the charts. In the winter of 1977, JDB converged upon Jimi Hendrix’s Electric Lady Studios in the heart of lower Manhattan spending two weeks recording their first of three [vinyl] records. With a little help from Don Murray, producer, and Larry Gold, arranger, who brought in horn and string sections hired from Local Musician’s Union 802, Johnny’s Dance Band was finally on their way. This Johnny’s Dance Band album appears courtesy of RCA/Windsong Records and is not for sale.

Johnny’s Dance BandChorded Lyric Sheets

1. Everything that Glitters Ain’t Gold
2. Guilty
3. Lonely Lover*
4. Paradise
5. Pushed Around Too Long
6. Roll it Away*
7. Take Me Home
8. Take Me to the Party
9. The Best Days Are Here
10. Up to Me
*Click title to download pdf